Giant Lemon Cupcake

I had never made a giant cupcake before, I didn’t even have a cake tin for the job, so when I was given this order from CGC I was quite excited to go out and buy the new equipment I would need. I bought one of those red silicone moulds, I have never used silicone bakeware before so I was a bit apprehensive as to how it would turn out, but I was actually really pleased with the result.

This cake has four layers of delicious lemon flavoured sponge, sandwiched together with lashings of lemony buttercream. The base I covered with white fondant, shaped into the effect of a cupcake case and decorated with handmade daisies. The top of the cupcake was covered with light and medium yellow piped roses finished off with edible handmade roses to co-ordinate with the colours in the icing.

Even the board was embossed with roses and covered in more edible flower decorations, finished with a matching yellow ribbon.

Leave a Reply

